Akwa United sign Ojo Olorunleke, four others

Akwa United FC have signed five new players to fortify the team for the second stanza of the 2016/2017 Nigeria Professional Football League NPFL season.

The five players, comprising three strikers, one midfielder and one goalkeeper, were presented to the media at the unveiling ceremony at the Godswill Akpabio International stadium in Uyo on Wednesday May 17, 2017.

The players are strikers- Edem Akakatang, Gabriel Okechukwu and Harmony Ikande, midfielder Christopher Lolo and goalkeeper Ojo Olorunleke.

Edem Akakatang joined Akwa United from Akwa Starlets for the rest of the season. Akakatang will wear jersey number 27.

Gabriel Okechukwu was signed from FC Karpaty of Ukraine for the rest of the season. He has been assigned Jersey number 25.

Harmony Ikande joined the Promise Keepers from Aris Limassol of Cyprus and will play till the end of the season with Jersey number 19.

Midfielder Christopher Lolo signed from Katsina United for the remaining part of the current season. He will wear jersey number 32.

And goalkeeper Ojo Olorunleke signed from Sunshine Stars of Akure till the end of the season. He has been assigned Jersey number 30.

In a remark, the chairman of Akwa United Elder Paul Bassey said he was impressed with the quality of the new players and tasked them to be committed and dedicated to the team's programme while bringing their wealth of experience to bear.